Mac hide user name in menu bar

Clean up time: how to remove your account name from your Mac Menu Bar

Some may not even appear by default—like Bluetooth—but you can choose to show them from the Bluetooth pane in System Preferences. Depending on the application, you may be also able to hide the icon from its settings. Bartender is a popular application for doing this on a Mac. You can also have icons appear on your Mac menu bar when they update, but keep them hidden most of the time. The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere. Join , subscribers and get a daily digest of news, comics, trivia, reviews, and more.

Windows Mac iPhone Android. Smarthome Office Security Linux.

How to Enable Fast User Switching on Mac

The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere Join , subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles. Skip to content. How-To Geek is where you turn when you want experts to explain technology.

I f the Login Options are grayed, then you will have to click on the Lock icon and type a password for a user with an administrative rights. If you don't have a password, then simply click on unlock without typing any password. If the user you are logged in with is an administrator on this computer, then type the password.

If your account does not have an administrative rights, then ask an administrator to type his username and password.

Mac hide user name in menu bar

Once the password is type, press the Unlock button. Select the option Show fast user switching menu as Full Name This will show the username instantley on the menu bar.

Hide Menu Bar Mac Icons for FREE!

If at any time later you wanted to remove the username from the menu bar, then all what you have to do is to come back to the login options page and deselect this option. Summary With OS X Lion, a new feature is introduced by showing your account username on the menu bar.


  1. Stay Updated?
  2. apache tomcat download mac os x;
  3. lords of the realm 2 download mac.
  4. How to access a hidden Library folder on macOS.

I personally use this option to quickly lock my account when I want to leave my laptop alone.